Jane, Howard, Elizabe


In stock

Set in wartime Britain, Confusion follows the relationships of the Cazalet family and their lives, loves and losses. The third book in the landmark Cazalet Chronicles, adapted into a BBC radio and TV series.

ISBN: 9781035042463 Category:


Set in the height of the Second World War, The Cazalet Chronicles continues with the third in the series, Confusion, where chaos has become a way of life for the Cazalet family.

‘Compelling, moving, unputdownable . . . Maybe my favourite books ever’ – Marian Keyes, bestselling author of My Favourite Mistake

It’s 1942 and the dark days of war seem never-ending. Scattered across the still-peaceful Sussex countryside and air-raid-threatened London, the divided Cazalets begin to find the battle for survival echoing the confusion in their own lives.

Headstrong, independent Louise surprises the whole family when she abandons her dreams of being an actress and instead makes a society marriage. Polly, now living in London with Clary, is struggling to come to terms with the death of her mother and manage her grieving father. Meanwhile, Clary is painfully aware that what she lacks in beauty she makes up for in intelligence, and is the only member of the family who believes that her father might not be dead . . .

‘She helps us to do the necessary thing – open our eyes and our hearts’ – Hilary Mantel, bestselling author of The Mirror and the Light

Confusion is the heartbreaking and heartwarming third instalment of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s bestselling series. It is followed by the fourth book in the series, Casting Off.

Additional information

Weight 0.344 kg
Dimensions 19.7 × 13 × 3.2 cm












823.914 (edition:23)


General – Trade / Code: K

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to the Jaffé & Neale newsletters to receive updates on forthcoming titles we’re excited about, book club information and book signing events at the store.