All Change

Elizabeth Jane Howard


Available on back-order

A privileged family come to terms with life in post-war England in All Change, the fifth and final book in the landmark Cazalet Chronicles. Adapted into a BBC radio and TV series.

ISBN: 9781529049466 Category:


As featured on BBC Radio 4 Open Book

As the old world begins to fade from view and a new dawn emerges, All Change marks the fifth and final volume in Elizabeth Jane Howard’s bestselling The Cazalet Chronicles.

‘She helps us to do the necessary thing – open our eyes and our hearts’ – Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall

It is the 1950s and as the Duchy, the Cazalets’ beloved matriarch, dies, she takes with her the last remnants of a disappearing world – houses with servants, class, and tradition – in which the Cazalets have thrived.

Louise, now divorced, becomes entangled in a painful affair, while Polly and Clary must balance marriage and motherhood with their own ideas and ambitions. Hugh and Edward, now in their sixties, are feeling ill-equipped for this modern world, while Villy, long abandoned by her husband, must at last learn to live independently. But it is Rachel, who has always lived for others, who will face her greatest challenges yet.

As the Cazalets descend on Home Place for Christmas, only one thing is certain: nothing will ever be the same again.

‘Charming, poignant and quite irresistible . . . to be cherished and shared’ – The Times

With cover artwork exclusively designed by artist Luke Edward Hall, this is the heartbreaking and heartwarming final instalment of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s bestselling series.

Additional information

Weight 0.386 kg
Dimensions 19.7 × 13.1 × 4.1 cm






xiv, 572






823.914 (edition:23)


General – Trade / Code: K

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to the Jaffé & Neale newsletters to receive updates on forthcoming titles we’re excited about, book club information and book signing events at the store.