Brood

£14.99

In Brood, a stunning new voice depicts one woman’s attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss of a miscarriage.

Out of stock

Description

‘Completely original, full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom.’
Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

‘Darkly funny and poignant’

Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

‘Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.’ Daily Mirror

Meet Gloria, Gam Gam, Darkness, Miss Hennepin County, and their unlikely owner.
Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the freezing nights of a brutal winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Brood by Jackie Polzin is a darkly witty, deeply moving and startling original debut novel of motherhood and grief, full of sorrow, joy and unrelenting hope. Perfect for fans of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout.

Additional information

Weight0.348 kg
Dimensions22.3 × 14.4 × 3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

240

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Brood”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *