Thousand Ships

£8.99

A feminist retelling of the Trojan War – giving voices to the women the myths forgot . . .

In stock

Description

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

One of the Guardian‘s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker.

This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . .

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’Madeline Miller, author of Circe

‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ – Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

Additional information

Weight0.264 kg
Dimensions19.7 × 13 × 2.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

xv, 347

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Thousand Ships”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *