Belzhar

£7.99

New YA novel from New York Times bestselling author, Meg Wolitzer – perfect for fans of The Bell Jarand The Secret History

In stock

Description

I was sent here because of a boy. His name was Reeve Maxfield, and I loved him and then he died, and almost a year passed and no one knew what to do with me.

A group of emotionally fragile, highly intelligent teenagers gather at a therapeutic boarding school where they are mysteriously picked for ‘Special Topics in English’. Here, they are tasked with studying Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jarand keeping a journal. Each time the teens write in their diaries they are transported to a miraculous other world called Belzhar, a world where they are no longer haunted by their trauma and grief – and each begins to tell their own story.

From internationally bestselling author Meg Wolitzer, and published by John Green’s editor, Belzharis a breathtaking and surprising story about first love, deep sorrow, and the power of acceptance.

Entertainment Weekly’s YA book of 2014

TIME Magazine’s Top Ten YA of 2014

Kobo’s best of 2014

Amazon’s best books of 2014

‘A story about what it means to lose someone, or something, you love. Twice.’ Kirkus Reviews

‘A welcome attack on continuing to live in the past at the expense of the present.Dry humour accompanies each journey in this readable novel, already selling well in America and deservedly so’ Independent

‘Breathtaking’ Glamourmagazine

‘Wolitzer has imagined a world for young readers that celebrates the sacred, transcendent power of reading and writing’ New York Times

‘An engaging fable about literature’s healing power’Financial Times

Additional information

Weight0.27 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 13 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

266

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Belzhar”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *