The Dust Never Settles

£16.99

A hauntingly beautiful debut for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro

In stock

Description

‘A breath-taking writer of singular voice.’ Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

‘I have seen ghosts. They will not rest. The whispers of the past are all around…’

Anaïs Echeverrìa left Peru, the country where she grew up, many years ago. She has built a new life for herself in London: engaged and pregnant, she dares to believe that she has left the ghosts of her family’s past behind.

But now she must return to Lima to sell her ancestral home, the notorious yellow house that looms over the sprawling city below. Concealed within its walls are spectres from the past that demand her attention, remnants of the injustices on which both her country and her house were built. 

The Dust Never Settles sweeps from the bustling beaches and teeming salsa halls of contemporary Lima to the rise and fall of the Inca empire; from vengeful Andean gods, to fishermen crammed into local ceviche bars and a civil war that will devastate the nation. Hauntingly beautiful, effortlessly poetic and epic in scope, it is the story of Anaïs’s uneasy homecoming, and a reckoning with secrets that refuse to stay buried. 

Additional information

Dimensions23.4 × 15.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

384

Language

English

Edition

Hardback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Dust Never Settles”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *